Late Night Lute (DXL 1175)



This relaxing programme of music for lute and theorbo features the works of Philip Rosseter, John Dowland, Robert Johnson, Alessandro Piccinini, and Johannes Kapsberger alongside newly commissioned work  ‘The Miller’s Tale’, composed by Stephen Goss for Matthew Wadsworth, which received its world premiere on 6 March 2017 at London’s Wigmore Hall.

Late Night Lute (DXL 1175) Digital Booklet

Track List:

1) Rosseter : Prelude
2) Dowland: A Dream (Lady Leighton’s pavan)
3) Dowland: Fortune My Foe
4) Johnson: Pavan in C minor
5) Johnson: Two Almaynes

Stephen Goss: The Miller’s Tale
6) 1. Prologue
7) 2. Estampie (John)
8) 3. Chanson (Alisoun)
9) 4. Toccata (Nicholas)
10) 5. Serenade (Absolon)
11) 6. Epilogue

12) Piccinini: Toccata VI
13) Piccinini: Partite variate sopra quest’aria
francese d’etta l’alemana
14) Piccinini: Corrente Terza
15) Kapsberger: Passacaglia
16) Dowland: Sir John Langton’s Pavan
17) Dowland: Mr Dowland’s Midnight

About Matthew Wadsworth

Matthew Wadsworth has earned a reputation as one of the world’s finest lutenists. Working in the UK, Europe and North America as a soloist and chamber musician, he has appeared at most major concert halls and festivals, and can often be heard on radio, both in live performance and recordings.

Born in 1974, Matthew studied lute at London’s Royal Academy of Music with Nigel North, after which he spent a year at the Royal Conservatory of Music in The Hague.

His CD recordings have all received international critical acclaim, and have been featured as Gramophone Editors Choice on several occasions.

Related Products