Albertus Bryne – Keyboard Music (DXL 1124)



Albertus Bryne was the leading composer of harpsichord music before Locke and one of the earliest English composers to organise his dances into suites by key.

With the exception of music specifically for the organ, the majority of Bryne’s pieces would have been played on any keyboard instrument which the player had to hand, be it harpsichord, organ or clavichord.   Here, Terence Charlston performs on the organ, single manual harpsichord and spinet to give an authentic and insightful performance of Bryne’s works.

To place Bryne’s music in context, this disc also includes Bull’s famous G major Prelude and two anonymous pieces from an early Bryne source. Bull’s prelude is one of the most widely disseminated pieces in the repertoire. The CD concludes with three voluntaries or verses by Christopher Gibbons, second son of the legendary Orlando Gibbons, which Bryne may well have heard his predecessor play at Westminster Abbey. They are typical of Restoration organ music for a single organ (i.e. to be played on one keyboard) and are close in style to Bryne’s own voluntary.

Albertus Bryne – Keyboard Music (DXL 1124) Digital Booklet

Track List

Albertus Bryne
1) Toletole
2 – 6) Suite in A minor
7 – 9) Suite in F major
10 – 13) Suite in D minor
14 – 17) Suite in D major
18 – 22) Suite in A minor
23 – 25) Suite in D major
26 – 30) Suite in D minor
31 – 33) Suite in D major

34) Towle Towle

John Bull
35) Preludium

36) An Alman
37) The Earle of Oxfordes Gallene

Albertus Bryne
38) Totetole
39) A ground to ye organ or harpsichord

Christopher Gibbons
Three voluntaries for the single organ
40) in A
41) Verse for ye single organ in D
42) Verse in F

Terence Charlston, keyboard player with the well known ‘London Baroque’, plays the works of English organist and composer, Albertus Bryne.

View booklet

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop

Related Products