Goss Theorbo Concerto (DXL 1182)



This limited-edition EP is devoted to Welsh composer Stephen Goss‘ groundbreaking new concerto for theorbo and strings, commissioned and premiered by acclaimed lutenist Matthew Wadsworth.

Matthew notes, “the piece is written in a patchwork of styles, almost all of them completely new territory for the instrument. It shows that the theorbo has not only a rich past, but a present and a future as well.”

In this recording, he joins forces with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, directed from the violin by Benjamin Marquise Gilmore.

Only 400 CDs are available, all signed by the composer and the soloist. They will be shipped starting 2 March 2019.

Track List

1) Prelude (4.10)
2) Interlude 1 (1.25)
3) Scherzo (3.52)
4) Interlude 2 (1.07)
5) Passacaglia (4.06)
6) Interlude 3 (1.32)
7) Finale (3.11)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Goss Theorbo Concerto (DXL 1182)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *