Cycles: Beethoven, Schubert, Andriessen, and Cage (DXL 1189)



Following the success of their last album (Quart de Nuit, DXL 1185), the Ruysdael Quartet have returned with a double CD in celebration of 25 years together as a string quartet.  In addition to well-known gems of the quartet repertoire by  Beethoven, Schubert, and John Cage, they also present a highly personal reading of “…miserere…” by Louis Andriessen, with whom the quartet worked intensively in the last years of his life.

Cycles: Beethoven, Schubert, Andriessen, and Cage (DXL 1189) Digital Booklet

NEW RELEASE OFFER: for the first 25 orders of this CD, we will include a complimentary copy of the Ruysdaels’ critically acclaimed disc of French impressionist music, Quart de Nuit, DXL 1185

CD 1

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN String Quartet op.18 no. 4 in C minor

  1. Allegro ma non tanto (08:56)
  2. Andante scherzoso, quasi allegretto (07:55)
  3. Menuetto (Allegretto) (04:00)
  4. Allegro (04:21)

JOHN CAGE String Quartet in Four Parts

  1. Quietly Flowing Along (04:08)
  2. Slowly Rocking (04:26)
  3. Nearly Stationary (09:00)
  4. Quodlibet (01:25)

CD 2

FRANZ SCHUBERT String Quartet in D minor, D. 810 ‘Death and the Maiden’

  1. Allegro (11:28)
  2. Andante con moto (13:14)
  3. Scherzo. Allegro molto (04:01)
  4. Presto (09:03)


  1. …miserere… (15:02)

Inspired by the famous Dutch painter Jacob van Ruysdael, known for his impressive landscapes and dramatic skies, the Ruysdael Quartet has become renowned for its intense playing and nuanced sound palette. Formed in 1996, the quartet has now established a name both in the Netherlands and abroad, and has been regularly invited to take part in festivals and masterclasses, resulting in performances not only in Europe but also in the USA, Japan and Australia. Especially devoted to 20th- and 21st-century music, they have collaborated with living composers such as Jörg Widmann, Louis Andriessen, Jacob ter Veldhuis, Eric Verbugt, and Gabriel Prokofjev. In addition, the Ruysdaels regularly play together with prominent guest musicians such as Raphael Wallfisch, Gavriel Lipkind, Dmitri Ferschtmann, Igor Roma and Charles Neidich. In addition to their travels and collaborations, they host the annual ZOOM! Chamber Music Festival, founded in 2015 and based in Velp, The Netherlands.

Related Products