Rune of Hospitality (DXL 1012)



Counter-tenor Mark Chambers continues his series of critically acclaimed releases on the Deux-Elles label with a new disc exploring 20th century English song.

The two composers featured, Ralph Vaughan Williams and Edmund Rubbra, both wrote several important song cycles, and the older composer frequently played his works in progress to his younger colleague, whose musical opinions he greatly valued. Also featured on the disc is the striking set of Rubbra’s Eight Preludes for piano.

The disc is released to mark Rubbra’s centenary and features artwork by professional artist Benedict Rubbra, the composer’s son. Many of these works are either making their first appearance on CD, or are otherwise unavailable in the UK.

“the Caractacus Quartet undergirds the intense fervour of Chambers’s performance …Chambers’s voice is at its most eloquent in its upper reaches.
Performance; 4-Stars * * * * , Sound: 5-Stars * * * * *”
Hilary Finch, BBC Music Magazine

“. an excellent recording of very fine English art songs wonderfully performed by a singer who is specialising in this repertoire, who could well go places and be snapped up by a producer before long for Oberon I have no doubt. He is wonderfully supported by the sweet toned Caractacus Quartet and by the experienced and thoughtful David Mason. All texts are given, and the excellent booklet notes are by Keri Dexter. A worthwhile investment.”
Gary Higginson, Classical Music on theWeb, June 2001.

Rune of Hospitality (DXL 1012) Digital Booklet

Track List:

Four Last Songs – Vaughan Williams
1. Procris
2. Tired
3. Hands, Eyes, and Heart
4. Menelaus

Two Sonnets by William Alabaster – Rubbra
5. Upon the Crucifix
6. On the Reed of our Lord’s Passion

7. Prelude 1 – Rubbra
8. Prelude 2 – Rubbra

Four Poems by Fredegond Shove – Vaughan Williams
9. Motion and Stillness
10. Four Nights
11. The New Ghost
12. The Water Mill

13. Prelude 3 – Rubbra
14. Prelude 4 – Rubbra
15. The Mystery – Rubbra
16. Rosa Mundi – Rubbra
17. Ave Maria Gratia Plena – Rubbra
18. O my deir Hert, O excellent Virgin Princess – Rubbra
19. Prelude 5 – Rubbra
20. Prelude 6 – Rubbra
21. Silent Noon – Vaughan Williams
22. Orpheus with his lute – Rubbra
23. Rune of Hospitality – Rubbra
24. A Duan of Barra – Rubbra
25. Prelude 7 -Rubbra
26. Prelude 8 – Rubbra

Three Psalms – Rubbra
27. O Lord, rebuke me not
28. The Lord is my shepherd
29. Praise ye the Lord

Counter-tenor Mark Chambers explores 20th century English song with the cycles of Ralph Vaughan Williams and Edmund Rubbra together with Rubbra’s striking Eight Preludes for piano.  The disc also features artwork by professional artist Benedict Rubbra, the composer’s son.

View Booklet

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop

Related Products