Bassoon (1104)



The year 2004 marks the tenth anniversary of The Fibonacci Sequence, now well established as one of the foremost chamber ensembles in Britain. Founded by the pianist Kathron Sturrock, The Fibonacci Sequence is composed of musicians of international repute, and distinguished by the variety and imagination of its programming which makes full use of the range and versatility of the chamber music repertoire.
Richard Skinner studied bassoon at the Guildhall School of Music. Chamber music is central to his musical life. In addition to the Fibonacci Sequence he plays regularly with contemporary groups Lontano and Matrix Ensemble.He is a member of the Almeida Ensemble, appearing with Almeida Opera at the Aldeburgh and Almeida festivals. He has made many recordings with chamber ensembles, including Britten’s ‘The Beggars Opera’ with the Aldeburgh Festival Ensemble, Holst’s Wind Quintet with the Elysian Quintet, and most recently works by Luis Tinoco with Lontano. Richard is a member of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields and the London Chamber Orchestra.

Here he shows off the instrument as a vital member of the chamber music ensemble.

This disc, the second in the Fibonacci Sequence series, highlighting instruments of its ensemble, gives the bassoon a chance to blossom. It begins with Webe’s Andate and Rondo Ungarese and ens with Mozart’s Quintet in E flat, K 452 taking in two Frenchmen and an Englishman on the way.  Henri Sauguet’s Barcarolle is chosen for the unusual mix of bassoon and harp, while Ibert’s Cing Pieces en Trio make poignant use of the instrument’s upper regiater in the Elegy. Gordon Jacob’s Suite is good, too.
Barry Millington, The Evening Standard.  4 **** Stars

Bassoon (1104) Digital Booklet

Track List:

1 & 2) Andante and Rondo Ungarese, Op. 35 (for bassoon, violin, viola and cello) – Carl Maria von Weber, arr. Mordechai Rechtman.

3) Barcarolle (for bassoon and harp) – Henri Sauguet

Cinq pièces en trio (for oboe, clarinet and bassoon) – Jacques Ibert
4) Allegro vivo
5) Andantino
6) Allegro assai
7) Andante
8) Allegro quasi marziale

Suite (for bassoon, two violins, viola and cello) – Gordon Jacob
9) Prelude
10) Caprice
11) Elegy
12) Rondo

Quintet in E flat, K. 452 (for oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon and piano) – W. A. Mozart
13) Largo – Allegro moderato
14) Larghetto
15) Allegretto

This chamber music disc from the Fibonacci Sequence puts the bassoon in the spotlight and gives this well-loved instrument a well-deserved opportunity to shine. From the virtuosic to the haunting, Richard Skinner’s sparkling bassoon playing shows off the instrument as a pivotal member of the chamber music ensemble.

“Skinner makes a beautiful sound in the expressive Andante, and hurtles effectively through the virtuoso coda … Skinner’s expertise and sensitivity are perfectly matched by his colleagues, notably the pianist Kathron Sturrock.”  BBC Music Magazine


View Booklet

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop

Related Products