Baltic Brass (DXL 1042)


Playing on period instruments, John Wallace and members of The Wallace Collection present this intriguing collection of early brass ensemble repertoire from the two “baltic” composers, Sibelius and Ewald.

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop


Playing on period instruments, John Wallace and the other members of The Wallace Collection perform this highly attractive repertoire with the gusto, precision and grace for which they have become internationally recognised. From the opening “punching” of the Sibelius Petite Suite to the stylish solace of Ewald’s slow movements, this lesser-known repertoire is now receiving the exposure it deserves.

Track List

Petite Suite – Jean Sibelius
1. Prelude
2. Andantino
3. Menuetto

4. Tiera – Jean Sibelius

Brass Quintet No. 1 (Op. 5) – Victor Ewald
5. Moderato
6. Adagio
7. Allegro moderato

Brass Quintet No. 2 (Op. 6) – Victor Ewald
8. Allegro Risoluto
9. Theme with variations
10. Allegro vivace

Brass Quintet No. 3 (Op. 7) – Victor Ewald
11. Allegro
12. Internezzo: moderato
13. Andante
14. Vivo

Additional information

The Wallace Collection

Brass Ensemble

Jean Sibelius


Victor Ewald