Waldstein (DXL 1162)



Martin Roscoe is a versatile musician who flourishes in performance, whether as a concerto soloist, recitalist or chamber musician. He is an artist who endeavours always to serve the composer and the music. His enduring popularity and solid reputation are built on a deeply thoughtful musicianship which is allied to an easy rapport with audiences and fellow musicians alike.

Roscoe is now recording the complete Beethoven piano sonatas for the Deux-Elles label and this first collection includes Beethoven’s popular Pathetique sonata, on which he comments “a work of peculiar intensity and dynamic energy which can still blow away its listeners with its power and freshness….The Pathétique remains a huge thrill to perform: I’d even say I find it much more exciting now than when I first learnt it some thirty-five years ago!”

For more information on Martin Roscoe, visit www.martinroscoe.co.uk

Track List:

Piano Sonata in E flat major Op. 7
1) Allegro molto e con brio
2) Largo con gran espressione
3) Allegro
4) Rondo. Poco Allegretto e Grazioso

Piano Sonata in G minor Op. 49 No. 1
5) Andante
6) Rondo. Allegro

Piano Sonata in G major Op. 49 No. 2
7) Allegro ma non troppo
8) Tempo di Menuetto

Piano Sonata in C major Op. 53 ‘Waldstein’
9) Allegro con brio
10) Introduzione. Adagio molto
11) Rondo. Allegretto moderato

Additional information

Martin Roscoe


Ludwig Van Beethoven