Romanza (DXL 1172)



Sara has an ongoing collaborating with composer David Matthews and this disc features his piece ‘Adonis,’ inspired by Greek mythology as suggested by Sara herself and  commissioned by the Presteigne Festival where it was first performed in 2007.  ‘Aria’, composed for Lorraine McAslan, is the most demanding of Matthews’ works for violin featured here. Its title refers to the shape of the piece and suggest the violin sings throughout. ‘Romanza’ was commissioned for violin and piano by Madeleine Mitchell in 2012 and inspired by an essay by Bayan Northcott, Matthews takes on the idea of reviving the waltz.

Also include on the disc are the classic and beautiful Fauré works – the Violin Sonata Op.13 and the Romance in B-flat.

Track List:

David Matthews: Adonis, Op.105
1)    Venus and Adonis
2)    Death of Adonis
3)    Metamorphosis

Gabriel Fauré: Violin Sonata in A, Op. 13
4)    Allegro molto
5)    Andante
6)    Allegro vivo
7)    Allegro quasi presto

8)    David Matthews: Aria for Violin and Piano, Op. 41

9)    Gabriel Fauré Romance in B-Flat, Op. 28

10)    David Matthews: Romanza for Violin and Piano, Op. 119a


Sara Trickey has performed most of the major repertoire for violin and orchestra with orchestras including the City of London Sinfonia and the Orchestra of St Johns and made the world premiere recording of William Mathias violin sonatas. Sara plays regularly with pianist Daniel Tong, with whom she has made an acclaimed recording of Schubert’s Sonatinas. She and Dan also enjoy collaborating with musicologist Richard Wigmore, with whom they explore music written for their combination of instruments.

For more information, visit