Oboe (DXL 1121)



Britain’s foremost chamber ensemble, The Fibonacci Sequence spotlight repertoire for oboe, featuring Christopher O’Neal.

The Fibonacci Sequence is now well established as one of the foremost chamber ensembles in Britain. Here, the spotlight falls on the oboe for this collection of chamber repertoire, highlighting, as oboist Christopher O’Neal describes “the humour of Françaix, the irony of Poulenc, the brilliance of Crusell and the easy charm of Alwyn.” But, he adds, “the two Mozart pieces have it all, and in spades!”

Track List:

Mozart: Oboe Quartet in F major KV370
1) Allegro
2) Adagio
3) Rondeau

Poulenc: Trio
4) Presto
5) Andante
6) Rondo

7) Mozart: Adagio KV580a (arr. Lowicky)

Françaix: Quatuor à vents
8) Allegro
9) Andante
10) Allegro molto
11) Allegro vivo

Alwyn: Suite for Oboe and Harp
12) Minuet
13) Valse Miniature
14) Jig

15) Elgar: Salut d’Amour (arr. O’Neal)

Crusell: Divertimento oboe and string quartet
16) Allegro
17) Andante poco adagio
18) Allegro
19) Allegro vivace