Light – Distance (DXL 1084)



The Galliard Ensemble was founded in 1993 when its members were students at the Royal Academy of Music, and has since won many major awards including the BBC Radio 3 Young Artists Forum, the Maisie Lewis Young Artist Award, and was selected for the Park Lane Group Series and Fresh Series at the Purcell Room. Currently a member of BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists scheme, the Galliard Ensemble plays regularly in many of Britain’s major venues such as the Wigmore Hall, the South Bank Centre and the Bridgewater Hall and has given two recitals at the BBC Proms. The Galliard Ensemble has a strong interest in contemporary composition and has worked with Paul Patterson, Gyorgy Ligeti, Richard Rodney Bennett and Harrison Birtwistle.

The Galliard Ensemble is delighted to have had the opportunity to record this collection of Portuguese chamber works for winds. They were first introduced to this area of Portuguese music by the dynamic young Portuguese composer Luís Tinoco, who studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London. Luís introduced the ensemble to many of the leading Portuguese composers and their works and were delighted by the reception these pieces received in the recitals and broadcasts that we have given, both in Portugal and in Great Britain, and are very grateful for the generous support that the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation has given, which has enabled this disc to be recorded.

Track List:

Light – Distance – Luís Tinoco
1. Vivo ed energico
2. Molto calmo
3. Sensual
4. Molto Lontano
5. Vigoroso

6. Scherzino – Joly Braga Santos

7 – 13 Sete Lembranças para Vieira Da Silva – Fernando Lopes-Graça

Três Fragmentos (solo clarinet) – António Pinho Vargas
14. Presto
15. Expressivo
16. Como uma improvisacao

O Curso das Águas – Luís Tinoco
17. Brutale
18. Staticco

19. The Panic Flirt (solo flute) – Alexandre Delgado

Autumn Wind – Luís Tinoco
20. Moderato
21. Vivo

22. Aspetto – Sérgio Azevedo

Cinco Miniaturas – Eurico Carrapatoso
23. Mecanismo de Precisao
24. Madrigal
25. Llaco
26. Coral
27. Mecanismo de precisao

The Galliard Ensemble’s latest CD explores the repertoire for wind quintet of seven contemporary composers – Luís Tinoco, Joly Braga Santos,  Fernando Lopes-Graça, António Pinho Vargas, Alexandre Delgado, Sérgio Azevedo and Eurico Carrapatoso. These sparkling performances, full of the liveliness and skill for which the Galliard Ensemble have become so well known, present these works each with a message of their own, conjured from a wide range of styles and tone colours.

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop


Related Products