Flower of Cities All (DXL 1118)



The English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble was formed in 1993 by London’s leading young specialists on early brass instruments and is now one of the most respected ensembles in its field.  Following the success of their debut CD ‘Accendo – Music from the time of Monteverdi’, The English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble have continued to be involved in many exciting and innovative projects making world premiere recordings and collaborating with other leading period instrument groups.

Track List:

1) The Song Called Trumpets
2) Wanton
3) Paradizo
4) My Selfe
5) The Bells
6) Venus’ Birds
7) The Queen’s Good Night
8) Pakington’s Pownde
9) Miserere
10) Christe Qui Lux
11) Flow my Teares
12) Semper Dowland, Semper Dolens
13) Courtly Masquing Ayre
14) All ye who love
15) Rowland
16) Fortune My Foe
17) Fortune My Foe
18) Pawles Wharfe
19) The Leaves be Green
20) The Bull Maske
21) Adson’s Maske
22) Fair Britain Isle
23) Fantasia a5 no. 3
24) O Mistris Myne
25) The Lord Zouche’s Maske
26) Grayes Inne Maske
27) Courtly Masquing Ayre
28) Courtly Masquing Ayre

The English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble celebrate the Music of Renaissance London.  This recording is representative of the music that was heard and played in London during what is rightly referred to as the ‘Golden Age’ of English music making. The sheer variety of music available from such a teeming and diverse metropolis is astonishing and this collection finds this specialist ensemble with guest vocalist, Mark Chambers (counter tenor) exploring the works of Anthony Holborne, William, Byrd, John Dowland, John Adson and Giles Farnaby among others.

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop

Related Products