Elegie – A Heart in Exile (DXL 1178)



Acknowledged as one of Britain’s finest pianists, Lucy Parham applies her sensitivity and imagination not only to concertos and recitals, but also to portraits in words and music of composers as Schumann, Chopin, Liszt and Debussy.

She came to public attention as the Piano Winner of the 1984 BBC Young Musician of the Year. Since her Royal Festival Hall concerto debut at age 16, she has played throughout the UK and around the globe. Lucy is also a regular contributor to BBC Music Magazine, Pianist Magazine and the Guardian and appears frequently on BBC Radio 3 and 4, as a jury member for the final of Young Musician of the Year. Lucy is a Professor at the Guildhall School of Music, London.


For more information on Lucy Parham, visit www.lucyparham.com

Track List


1) Dear Sergei … (2:35)
2) Rachmaninoff: Elégie Op.3 No.1 (5:13)
3) Besides the fee … (3:09)
4) Rachmaninoff: Polichinelle Op.3 No.4 (3:46)
5) My father … (2:18)
6) Rachmaninoff: Prelude in G Op.32 No.5 (3:23)
7) It was during my final summer … (3:51)
8) Tchaikovsky: Troika, ‘November’ (3:15)
9) I often think … (3:37)
10) Rachmaninoff: Prelude in C sharp minor Op.3 No.2 (5:27)
11) That damn prelude * … (5:21)
12) Rachmaninoff: Prelude in E flat Op.23 No.6 (3:37)
13) I must say … (4:11)
14) Rachmaninoff: Etude Tableau in E flat Op.33 No.7 (2:06)
15) My experience with Anton … (1:20)
16) Rachmaninoff: Moment Musical No.4 in E minor Op.16 (3:02)

1) Practice … (1:36)
2) Chopin: Waltz in C sharp minor Op.64 No.2 (3:44)
3) Chopin! … (1:38)
4) Scriabin: Etude in C sharp minor Op.42 No.5 (3:26)
5) War … (2:21)
6) Rachmaninoff: Moment Musical No.3 in B minor Op.16 (7:01)
7) When I left Russia … (2:18)
8) John Stafford Smith arr. Rachmaninoff: The Star-Spangled Banner (1:25)
9) I may live in America … (2:55)
10) Rachmaninoff: Moment Musical No.5 in D flat Op.16 (3:52)
11) In my own compositions … (2:27)
12) Kreisler / Rachmaninoff: Liebesleid (Love’s sorrow) (5:18)
13) Yesterday I received a telegram … (5:20)
14) Rachmaninoff: Moment Musical No.6 in C Op.16 (5:19)

‘Elegie’ takes the listener on a journey through Rachmaninoff’s life from his early years in Russia, studying in Moscow and composing from his beloved country estate Ivanoka, before escaping the Revolution in 1918 to live in self-imposed political exile in Europe and America. He was never to return but left his heart forever in Russia…

This musical portrait includes Rachmaninoff’s virtuosic and popular ‘Prelude in C sharp’ inspired by the rolling bells of the Russian Orthodox Church, and ‘Prelude Op 23 No. 6’, written for his first daughter, Irina, as an outpouring of tenderness and nostalgia.  Also featured is Tchaikovkys ‘Troitka,’ recorded 3 times by Rachmaninoff after several meetings, leaving an indelible impression on the young composer and Etude in C Sharp’ by Scriabin, Rachmaninoff’s childhood friend and composer to whom he devoted many of his performances and who died tragically at the age of 43.

Rachmaninoff pays homeage to his violinist, friend and frequent musical partner, Kreisler in his Liebensleid (Love's Sorrow) also included in this collection.

View Booklet

“I am a ghost forever wandering the world”
Sergei Rachmaninoff


Related Products