Dancing in the Dark (DXL 1141)



Since its formation in 1984 Chaconne Brass has built a reputation for imaginative programming and integrating the brass quintet with elements such as technology and improvisation, as well as with musicians from other ethnic and musical cultures. This CD showcases repertoire that demonstrates just that, from Mark Kesel’s Nacha with it’s unique take on Bhangra and the sublime talents of Sukhvinder Singh Namdhari’s tabla playing to Torbjorn Hultmark’s A Lullaby utilising live electronics and a many-layered electroacoustic track.

The CD also celebrates the centenary of the birth of the great Danish composer Vagn Holmboe with probably the first recording by a British quintet of his Quintet Op 79. This substantial piece is balanced by the equally considerable Symphony for Brass Quintet by Edward Longstaff, Richard Baker’s witty miniature Keck and the darkly evocative Tango Oscuro by Cecilia MacDowall.

For further information on Chaconne Brass, visit: www.chaconne.co.uk

Dancing in the Dark (DXL 1141) Digital Booklet

Track List:

1) Keck (Richard Baker)

2) A Lullaby (Torbjörn Hultmark)

Quintet Op. 79 (Vagn Holmboe)
3) Poco Lento
4) Allegro
5) Adagio
6) Vivace

7) Nachna (Mark Kesel)

8) Tango Oscuro (Cecilia MacDowall)

Symphony for Brass Quintet (Edward Longstaff)
9) Adagio – Allegro
10) Adagio
11) Scherzo
12) Allegro

Visionary Quintet Chaconne Brass mark the centenary of the birth of Danish composer Vagn Holmboe with this new CD ‘Dancing In The Dark’ showcasing repertoire from the ensemble’s imaginative programmes integrating the brass quintet with technology and improvisation as well as musicians from other ethnicity and cultures.   Aside from Vagn Holmboe’s Quintet Op 79, this collection also features the works Edward Longstaff, Richard Baker and Cecilia MacDowall.

View Booklet

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop

Related Products