The Songs of Louis Vierne (DXL 1105)



This disc is the product of 5 years of archival research and study. It features material never before recorded and represents the most complete treatment of Vierne’s song cycles available today.

Rachel Santesso studied voice at the Conservatorio di Verona in Italy and the Conservatory of Victoria. She made her professional debut as soprano soloist with the Victoria Symphony Orchestra under Peter McCoppin when she was 19, and has since appeared with major orchestras, ensembles and artists at venues and festivals around the world.

She became interested in Louis Vierne while an organ scholar in Canada, and later began looking for his forgotten song repertoire.

The Songs of Louis Vierne (DXL 1105) Digital Booklet

Track List:

1. Les Angélus for voice and organ Op.57
2. Extase! Op.13
Spleens et Détresses for voice and piano, Op.38:
3. Dans l ’interminable ennui de la plaine
4. Un grand sommeil noir
5. Spleen
6. Promenade sentimentale
7. A une femme
8. Sérénade
9. Le son du cor
10. Sapho
11. Les faux beaux jours
12. Marine
Cinq Poèmes de Baudelaire for voice and piano, Op.45
13. Recueillement
14. Réversibilité
15. Le flambeau vivant
16. La cloche fêlée
17. Les hiboux
Quatre Poèmes Grecs Op.60:
18. Offrande à pan
19. Le repos
20. Chanson pour avril
21. Offrande à Kypris

Soprano Rachel Santesso performs the complete collection of Louis Vierne’s song cycles and other works, accompanied by Roger Vignole (piano), Andrew Reid (organ) and Hugh Webb (harp) – also includes material recorded here for the first time.

View Booklet

View on iTunes

View on The Classical Shop

Related Products