Tempest (DXL 1167)



Volume 7 of Martin Roscoe’s beloved Beethoven Piano Sonata series.

“These are original readings of great style, wit and imagination, each individual sonata emerging with rare emotional and intellectual cohesion. I think you’ll enjoy them.”

The main part of this volume is devoted to the Op 31 Sonatas composed in 1802 at a time when Beethoven was probably in the darkest place of his whole life, early in his thirties with the realisation of his impending deafness. In October the same year, Beethoven wrote his famous Heiligenstadt Testament, a will in which he left everything to his two brothers and an outpouring of the despair he felt at the realisation that his deafness was only going to get worse. Martin notes, “It’s astonishing that..Beethoven was able to be so prolific as he was at this time, and even more amazing that so many of his works are so full of spirit, energy and humour.” This volume also includes the D major No. 3, composed by Beethoven when was twelve – one of the most sophisticated and technically challenging of the three early WoO47

Martin Roscoe is a versatile musician and one of Britain’s most prolific recitalists who features regularly on BBC Radio 3.  His enduring popularity and solid reputation are built on a deeply thoughtful musicianship that is allied to an easy rapport with audiences and fellow musicians alike.  He has recorded the complete piano music of Nielsen and Szymanowski, as well as this series for of the first complete Beethoven piano sonatas from Barry Cooper’s new edition, published by ABRSM.

Martin is currently a Professor of Piano at the Guildhall School of Music, London. Artistic Director of Ribble Valley International Piano Week and Beverley Chamber Music Festival.  He lives in the English Lake District, that provides inspiration and enables him to indulge his passions for the countryside and hill-walking.  www.martinroscoe.co.uk

Track List:

Piano Sonata in D WoO 47 No. 3
1) Allegro (4:42)
2) Menuetto sostenuto (7:38)
3) Scherzando: Allegro ma non troppo (3:07)

Piano Sonata in G Op. 31 No. 1
4) Allegro vivace (6:29)
5) Adagio grazioso (10:35)
6) Rondo. Allegretto – Adagio – Presto (6:53)

Piano Sonata in D minor Op. 31 No. 2 ‘Tempest’
7) Largo – Allegro (7:53)
8) Adagio (8:16)
9) Allegretto (6:35)

Piano Sonata in E flat Op. 31 No. 3
10) Allegro (8:07)
11) Scherzo. Allegretto vivace (5:03)
12) Menuetto. Moderato e grazioso (4:21)
13) Presto con molto fuoco (4:31)

“[these accounts] go out of their way to emphasis the freshness and cheekiness of Beethoven, for all his indebtedness to Haydn. No listener will be disappointed…”
In The Beginning (Vol. 5) DXL 1165, BBC Music Magazine,  February 2016 ****

“perfect musical judgement and a formidable technique from Martin Roscoe” Waldstein, DXL 1162, BBC Radio 3

” I think Roscoe’s way with them is nigh-on perfect” Pathetique, DXL 1161 Gramophone Magazine, June 2010


Related Products