Colour of Blossoms (DXL 1171)



Trio Derazey (formerly Jørgensen Trio) was formed in 2012 by Olga Jørgensen, Antonia Kesel and Cecilia Bignall at the Royal Academy of Music. In 2015, the trio was the first ensemble to win both the Audience Prize and the Overall Prize at St Martin’s Chamber Music Competition, as well as first prize at the Malta International Music Competition later that year and the Cavatina Chamber Music Fellowship in 2016. The Trio has given recitals across the UK and Europe, exploring and performing new music at the Wigmore Hall, and with the Cavatina Chamber Music Trust. In January 2017, Antonia and Cecilia welcomed pianist Joseph Havlat to the group.

Cecilia McDowall has been described by the International Record Review as having ‘a communicative gift’. Often inspired by extra-musical influences, her writing combines a rhythmic vitality with expressive lyricism. Her music is performed worldwide, and she has won many awards and been eight times short-listed for the British Composer Awards; in 2014 she won the British Composer Award for Choral Music with Night Flight. She is a house composer with Oxford University Press and is currently visiting composer to Dulwich College, London. This year, Cecilia McDowall was selected to become an Honorary Fellow of the Royal School of Church Music for her outstanding contribution to church music.

Track List:

1) Cavatina at Midnight (violin, cello, piano)
2) Colour is the Keyboard (piano)
3) Strange violin, are you following me? (violin, piano)
4) Anaphora (violin)
5) Falling Angels (cello, piano)
6) Shades of Solace (piano)
7) Colour of Blossoms (violin, cello, piano)
8) Exaudi (violin, piano)

The Night Trumpeter (trumpet, violin, cello, clarinet, bassoon, piano)
9) The power of dreams
10) Kircher’s Ear

Additional information

Cecilia McDowall


Trio Derazey

Chamber Ensemble